The Official Reading Order of the James Lalonde Mysteries

Hello, Book Lovers!


Way back in 2013, I first created James Lalonde; he was originally one of two love interests in a romantic comedy that I soon grew tired of writing. Eventually, that project was shelved due to my lack of interest in writing within the romance genre, but a few of the characters stayed with me. And one of those characters was James.


So, on the 11th of October 2014, I began creating character profiles and fleshing out the various storylines in the book. After multiple breaks, I finished the 112,000-word novel in 2017 and realised that it wasn’t the first book in the series but in the middle somewhere. This discovery prompted me to write the stories before this long novel.


Because the books haven’t been published in order, I thought you might like to see the reading order for those of you who like to read things in order. In this blog post, you’ll find the official reading order of the James Lalonde Mysteries.


But you don’t need to read the books this way; you can just read the James Lalonde Amateur Sleuth Mysteries, which is the main series and ignore the Rookie Reporter Mysteries and the stand-alone, shorter works.


The Candidate (Rookie Reporter Mystery, Book 1)

Set in the summer, the story is set on the 28th of June 2010. The Candidate is the first novella in a series that follows the twelve most important stories in his first year as a journalist.


Here’s a bit about the novella:

Rookie reporter James Lalonde is bored. And he isn’t a journalist. He’s an all-round dogs-body to editor-in-chief Rhys Kelly. But his luck has finally changed. After eavesdropping on the morning editorial meeting, James learns he has his first-ever story. The following day, James turns up to his interview with Albert to discover a trail of blood smeared through Albert’s house, an empty safe, and the murder weapon on the floor, but no body. Detective Anwar Khan turns up at the crime scene, puts two and two together, and believes James murdered the controversial magistrate. Can James clear his name and write his first-ever story before his editor takes it away?


The Locked Room

Set in the spring, the story starts off on the 5th of April 2014. And it has a tie-in to Duplicity where the opening of the Bed and Breakfast is referenced by James when he visits Professor Xavier Watson during his investigations.


Here’s a bit about the novella:

It’s the opening of Clovervale Hall, an exquisite bed-and-breakfast in England. And James Lalonde has an all-expenses-paid trip. But, there’s one thing he didn’t count on—a killer is on the loose, roaming the halls.


The Lawn

Set in the autumn on the 3rd of November 2014, this short story is referenced in Suspicion by Alistair when James turns up at his house to interview him about Pippa Baker’s murder.


Here’s a bit about the short story:

When Will Thatcher doesn’t show up for work, James Lalonde is forced to attend an afternoon tea with Alistair Carmichael in Will’s place. The lovely autumn afternoon tea comes to an abrupt end when a body is discovered on the front lawn of the Carmichael Estate with strange markings on its neck. But something is missing. A priceless painting is off the wall. However, it’s no ordinary painting. It’s a van Gogh purchased in an auction a few months prior. But trouble has its watchful eye on James. Can James figure out who the thief and murderer are before he is next?


Join my mailing list below and get The Lawn for free.

Suspicion (James Lalonde, Book 1)

The novella starts off in the final hours of Sunday, the 3rd of May 2015.


Here’s a bit about the novella:

To avoid blank space in the culture section and losing his job, James decides to write a story on the local museum’s latest acquisition, Excalibur. But there’s one thing he didn’t count on: Excalibur is missing, and a dead body is at the crime scene.


Duplicity (James Lalonde, Book 2)

The novel is set at the end of summer on the 26th of August 2015.


Here’s a bit about the novel:

This was not the reunion James envisioned. His friends are squabbling. At the centre of the drama is a manuscript. Moments after James discovers a secret code on the pages of the book, a thief murders a professor and steals the manuscript.


Where to Start Reading?

As I said earlier, you don’t have to read the stories in order. But you’re welcome to if that’s how you want to read.


I’m aware that you might not want to start reading the Rookie Reporter series because there is only one story available. If you want to stick with the main James Lalonde Amateur Sleuth Mystery series, start with The Locked Room and continue with the recommended reading order.


Or, if you don’t want to read the stories that aren’t a part of the main series, you can start with Suspicion.


Concluding Thoughts

I hope this blog post gives you a clear idea about the recommended reading order of the books in the James Lalonde Universe. Remember, you can get The Lawn for free by joining my mailing list and entering your details in the opt-in form below.


Happy reading, book lovers!

Amelia xx

Want 20% OFF Your First or Next Purchase!


Sign up to receive the coupon code, book release details, and other offers

Enter your first name and email address then click "YES, SIGN ME UP!"

You have successfully subscribed, check your email for the coupon code. It'll arrive in less than a minute!

Pin It on Pinterest